Professor Hsueh-Chia Chang, University of Notre Dame, USA
Dielectrophoretic Nanoparticle Assembly in Conic Nanopores: Dynamic Plasmonic Hotspots for miRNA Quantification -

Hsueh-Chia Chang is the Bayer Corporation Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of Notre Dame. He received his BS degree from Caltech in 1976 and his PhD from Princeton in 1980, all in Chemical Engineering. From 1989 to 1995, he was the Chair of the Chemical Engineering at Notre Dame. Since 2003, he has been the Director of the Center for Microfluidics and Medical Diagnostics, which has been charged with initiating technology transfer at Notre Dame. His group has generated 8 patents on electrokinetic technologies for biochips and molecular sensing. Three of them have been licensed and are being commercialized. He is a fellow and winner of the Frenkiel Hydrodynamics award of the American Physical Society. He is also the founding and chief editor of an American Institute of Physics journal, Biomicrofluidics. He founded the international conference Advances in Microfluidics and Nanofluidics, which is held annually in Asia and US. He co-authored the Cambridge University Press book "Electrokinetically Driven Microfluidics and Nanofluidics" with Leslie Yeo in 2009. His current research is on nanoscale integration of electrokinetics, dielectrophoresis and plasmonics for molecular sensing.


Professor Ryo Hamada, Kyushu University, Japan
Development and application of rapid bacteria detection method using dielectrophoresis and impedance measurement

Ryo Hamada received the B.Eng., M.Eng. and Dr. degrees in electrical engineering from Kyushu University in 1999, 2001 and 2012, respectively. In 2001, he joined Panasonic group and he had been with Panasonic Healthcare Co., Ltd (PHC). since 2004. In the PHC, his main research subject was development of electrical bacteria detection technology using dielectrophoretic impedance measurement (DEPIM) method. A commercial product using the technology has been released in 2012 from PHC. In 2014, he joined Nikon corp. His current research interests include manipulation and detection of bio particles applied for medical diagnostic devices. He is a member of the Institute of Electrical Engineers of Japan, The Society for Antibacterial and Antifungal Agents, Japan.


Professor Ron Pethig, University of Edinburgh, UK
Recent Biomedical Applications of Dielectrophoresis

Honorary Professorial Fellow at the University of Edinburgh after retiring in December 2013 from the post of Professor of Bioelectronics in the School of Engineering. From 1986-2008 held a Personal Chair at the School of Informatics, University of Wales, Bangor, and has enjoyed a long association with the Marine Biological Laboratory (MBL), Woods Hole, being appointed a Corporation Member in 1982 and an Adjunct Senior Scientist in 2005. He is a Fellow of the IET and the Institute of Physics, currently serving as Editor-in-Chief of IET Nanobiotechnology and chairman of the IOP Dielectrics Group. In 2001 he received the Herman P Schwan Award for work in biodielectrics.


Professor Antonio Ramos, Universdidad de Sevilla, Spain
AC Electrokinetics of metal microparticles

Antonio Ramos is Professor of Electromagnetism at the University of Seville, Spain. He received his bachelor's degree in 1988 and his PhD in 1993, both from University of Seville. He has worked on the Electrohydrodynamics of liquid bridges and drops, the Mechanics of fine cohesive powders and the Electrokinetics of particles and fluids in microsystems. Working with Prof Hywel Morgan, Prof Antonio Castellanos, Prof Antonio Gonzalez, and Dr Nicolas Green, developed the physical models of Electrohydrodynamics and AC Electroosmosis in Microsystems. His actual research interests are concerned with the Electrokinetics of metal micro- and nano- particles in electrolytes and the Electrohydrodynamics of electrolytes in Microsystems. He is a member of the International Advisory Board of the Electrokinetic Phenomena Conference.